Skip to the content

SWA Council

The SWA is governed by a Council of 16 members, elected at its Annual General Meeting.

The Council appoints a number of committees to assist and advise it on different aspects of its work; it sets the strategic direction and agrees the overall policy of the SWA.

By drawing its members from chief executives and other senior figures, in companies of all sizes, the Council reflects the interests of all SWA members.

SWA Council Members

Peter Gordon, William Grant & Sons Ltd (Chairman)

Ivan Menezes, Diageo plc (Vice Chairman)

Fraser Thornton, Distell International Ltd (Treasurer)

Alejandro Alvarez, Brown-Forman Corporation

Jean-Christophe Coutures, Chivas Brothers Ltd

Ian Curle, Edrington

David Cutter, Diageo plc

Rita Greenwood, William Grant & Sons Ltd


Pryce Greenrow, Beam Suntory

Simon Hunt, William Grant & Sons Ltd

Stuart Lowthian, John Dewar & Sons Ltd & Bacardi

Scott McCroskie, Edrington

Dan Mobley, Diageo plc

Thomas Moradpour, Glenmorangie Company Ltd

Alexandre Ricard, Pernod Ricard

Leonard Russell, Ian MacLeod Distillers Ltd